Osvaldo Gervasi: Nomination for the elections of the TDF Board of Directors

Thank you, Sophie, for nominating me at Nominations for the elections of the TDF Board of directors.
I accept the nomination for the Board election and express my full support for the Pledge for LibreOffice.

Who am I

I am an Associate Professor at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science of Perugia University. Since 2019, I served as Deputy Director of the Department. I am the President of the same Department’s Professional Degree “Programming and Management of Computer Systems”.

I served in the BoD as Director in 2016-2017 and Deputy Director in 2018-2019.

I have been a member of TDF and the Italian LibreOffice Documentation Team since 2013.

I live in Spello (PG, Italy), one of Italy’s most beautiful small towns. I’m 66 years old and married to Lorella, and I have a daughter, Marta (35), and two sons: Andrea (32) and Damiano (23).

Why I apply for the new BoD seat:

I am enthusiastic about joining the Pledge for LibreOffice to give TDF a vibrant life while respecting the specificities that each member of the Community expresses.

I want to promote LibreOffice among University students, in particular, Engineers and Computer
Scientists should let them contribute to such great software.

I think that is necessary to stimulate and promote donations.

Furthermore, I think it is necessary to morally support local communities in promoting LibreOffice and Open Formats, particularly among younger generations.

Full name: Osvaldo Gervasi

Emails: [ogervasi@libreoffice.org] [osvaldo.gervasi@gmail.com]

Affiliation: The University of Perugia, Italy

My official Candidacy Statement (75 words)