Membership Committee Meeting minutes 2023-09-29

1. Call to order & Roll Call

The meeting took place on 2023-09-29.
Present: Marina Latini, Miklos Vajna, Uwe Altmann, Gustavo Buzzatti Pacheco, Shinji Enoki, Balázs Varga, Gabriele Ponzo

2. New Members

The Membership Committee has received Membership Applications since the last review of the Membership Rolls, has reviewed these Applications in light of the requirement as defined in the Statutes of The Document Foundation, and has decided that the status of Member of The Document Foundation will be granted to the following persons, for a period of 1 (one) year effective the first day of the fourth quarter of 2023:

  • Andrea Rosetti
  • Baole Fang
  • Dominique Prieur
  • Jaume Pujantell
  • Jean-Francois Nifenecker
  • John Haller
  • Leif-Jöran Olsson
  • Noel Grandin
  • Paris Oplopoios
  • Patrick Luby
  • Pierre Vacher
  • Robert Cabane
  • Simon Phipps
  • Sophie Sipasseuth

All the new members, with the exception of [REDACTED], have been approved by unanimous roll call vote.
For what concerns [REDACTED]’ new application, Gabriele Ponzo, Gustavo Buzzatti Pacheco and Marina Latini decided to abstain. The reason for the abstention is that, even after an in-person meeting with the Board of Directors that took place in Bucharest, the Chairperson of the board confirmed (also in writing) that the Board wants a legal review of the rejection of [REDACTED]’ previous membership renewal that happened in Q2/2023. This act of the Board against a decision of another body puts severe undue pressure on the members of the Membership Committee, therefore they have been left with no other option than abstaining from this vote.

3. Membership Renewals

The Membership Committee has received Membership Renewal requests since the last review of the Membership Rolls. Memberships that are not renewed in a timely manner are deemed to have lapsed. The Membership Committee has reviewed these Renewal requests in light of the requirement as defined in the Statutes of The Document Foundation and decided that the following persons have their status of Member of The Document Foundation extended until the end of the third quarter of 2024.

  • Andika Triwidada
  • Andras Timar
  • Andreas Mantke
  • Aron Budea
  • Ashod Nakashian
  • Ayhan Yalçınsoy
  • Behzat Yildirim
  • Celia Palacios Gómez Tagle
  • Dennis Roczek
  • Diego Maniacco
  • Dieter Praas
  • Eike Rathke
  • Elisabetta Manuele
  • Eyal Rozenberg
  • Gábor Kelemen
  • Gabriele Ponzo
  • Gökay Şatir
  • Henry Castro
  • Hossein Nourikhah
  • Ismael Fanlo Boj
  • Joan Montané
  • Jona Azizaj
  • Jun Meguro
  • Kees Kriek
  • László Németh
  • Leo Moons
  • Lothar K. Becker
  • Marco Cecchetti
  • Mike Saunders
  • Modestas Rimkus
  • Osvaldo Gervasi
  • Paolo Pelloni
  • Peter Schofield
  • Petr Valach
  • Rizal Muttaqin
  • Sarper Akdemir
  • Stephan Bergmann
  • Stéphane Guillou
  • Stephen Fanning
  • Stuart Swales
  • Timur Gadžo
  • Tuomas Hietala
  • Zdeněk Crhonek
  • Zeki Bildirici

In Q2/2023, Ayhan Yalçınsoy and László Németh did not send any renewal request for their membership. Considering that they are members of the Board of Directors, their membership extension therefore was based on §10 (1) of the statutes. In Q3/2023 they provided a new application, therefore, the expiration of their membership has been extended not until the end of their term as Board Members as per §10 (2) of the statutes, but until Sept. 30, 2024.
§10 (1) “The Board of Trustees consists of natural persons who belong to another body […]”.
§10 (2) “Membership in the Board of Trustees ends after the expiration of the term of office […]”.
Gabriele Ponzo abstained from voting on his own renewal, for all the other members, the list has been approved by unanimous roll call.

4. Adjourning

All business being concluded, the meeting was closed on 2023-09-29.

Meeting minutes approved:

  • Gustavo Pacheco - Keeper of the minutes
  • Marina Latini - Chairperson