Chapter Template 24.x proposal

Hi
I had a look at the current template and uploaded a draft for the next LibreOffice 24.2. The file is an normal ODT file that we can turn later as template. On the cloud it is

LibreOffice Documentation/English/Contributor Resources/Proposal-Template-24.odt

The changes suggested are

1. The Headings color was made darker to address accessibility.

2. Remarks on Text and Alt Text for images for the same accessibility

3. Remark on Character styles and “Reset to Parent” property to allow attribute inheritance of the surrounding paragraph style.

4. Numbering 3 paragraph style indentation

Some remarks on Accessibility

I’m not an expert in accessibility but here are my findings

• Perfect accessibility may not be realistic. For example, characters styles are not welcome as they “convey additional meaning”.

• Text and Alt text in images are hard if done manually in dozens of images. However I have a script that copies the caption to the Text and Alt Text properties and that can silence accessibility checker until a better text is written there.

• There is need to change the colors in code listing because of the low contrast

Please add your comments here and to the file so we can get a consensus.

Cheers
Olivier

Hello Olivier

I do have one suggestion for the template is to change the paragraph alignment to centre for figure captions. The reason for this is to help when compiling the user guide from the chapter files. To explain:

As you add chapters to a user guide, the figure numbers automatically increase. This increase in figure number adds characters to the caption increasing line length. Very often the increase in line length for a caption creates a two line caption, which increases the overall height of a figure frame. The result is large empty spaces appearing in the user guide pages and that does not look professional.